Level 1 (L1) accreditation

Level I accreditation allows rapid bedside echocardiographic assessment of the acutely unwell patient and was launched in April 2018 in response to and in anticipation of the Department of Health mandate for 24/7 provision of emergency echo services. Following successful completion, accreditation is valid for five years.

It utilises a dataset of 17 images to allow for assessment and diagnosis of clinically important and commonly encountered acute pathology to guide bedside management. It allows detection of gross pathology to direct further assessment either by a more detailed transthoracic or trans-oesphageal study.

The accreditation process comprises a logbook component of 75 cases collected over a period of 12 months and demonstrating a range of acute pathology, followed by an assessment process which aims to assess technical ability, experience and image interpretation. Assessments are carried out at designated exam days held twice a year, with three stations to assess the logbook, scanning and reporting components.

BSE Level 1 mentor criteria (one of the following):

  • BSE Level 2 (ACCE, TTE, TOE)
  • BSE Level 2 in training (post exam)
  • BSE Level 1 with 12 months experience since accreditation 
  • EDEC
  • Other qualifications can be considered by BSE Level 1 committee on a case by case basis.

Further details of the requirements to successfully complete accreditation can be found in the accreditation pack.