Lifetime achievement award, Honorary Fellowships and Fellowships announced

We were delighted to announce the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award 2020 at our Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 7 October.

Dr Claire Colebourn, the new President of the British Society of Echocardiography, presented the award to Mr Keith Pearce, Immediate Past President, in recognition of his service and contribution to the advancement of echocardiography.

Dr Colebourn said "It is my deepest honour to present this award. Keith has served the BSE tirelessly since he was elected to council in 2010. He brought with him a refreshing and honest approach to each stage of his career within the Society and as service lead at Wythenshawe Hospital in Manchester. As Accreditation Chair, Keith changed our examination process from remote marking to a face-to-face, high quality examination process, publishing a highly successful exam prep book, catalysing the development of new accreditations  and drawing people into the Society from all walks of life. As Vice-President and President, Keith has driven the development of transparent governance. He has brought a true patient focus to the Society. He's modernised our website and communication services and cultivated our academic profile, especially through the development of our Society journal, Echo Research and Practice. As Service Lead at Wythenshawe, Keith has won national awards for leadership in cardiac science, strategically leading his team to achieve excellence. Thankfully Keith will be by my side as our Immediate Past President for the next two years, and he also goes on to join the British Cardiovascular Society on their Education Committee. Keith's achievements are legion and it is my pleasure to present this award. It comes with our deepest thanks, love and respect."

Honorary Fellowship was awarded to Dr Colebourn and Dr Tom Ingram in recognition of their respective roles as President and Immediate Past Vice-President and for their contributions to the field of echocardiography and in particular the British Society of Echocardiography.

Fellowship was awarded to Ms Jan Forster, Ms Reinette Hampson, Ms Fadia Makarem and Mr Siva Ratnatheepan for their contributions to echocardiography.