The functions of the BSE are overseen by the Council which is lead by the President and the Officers (such as the Secretary and Treasurer). Council consists of elected members and co-opted members as well as representatives of professional groups such as the British Junior Cardiologists’ Association and organisations for example the British Heart Foundation.

Elected members

Elected members of council are chosen by the entire membership by ballot conducted each year online. The results are announced at the AGM.  Each elected member serves for three years, after which they can seek re-election for a further term. The maximum number of consecutive terms on council is two.

Co-opted members

Co-opted members are selected by council at the meeting in the autumn immediately prior to the AGM. Each Co-opted member serves for 1 year which can be renewed by council. Co-opted members do not have the right to vote unless otherwise specified.

The President and Vice President

The president and vice president are elected by a ballot of council members.

Elected members

  • Mr Keith Pearce, President
  • Dr Vishal Sharma, Vice President and Chair of Education
  • Dr Rick Steeds, Immediate Past President
  • Dr Claire Colebourn, Chair of Accreditation
  • Ms Stephanie Baker, Chair of Departmental Accreditation
  • Ms Kelly Victor, Chair of Communications
  • Dr Martin Stout, Vice Chair of Education
  • Mr Shaun Robinson, Academy for Healthcare Science Representative
  • Dr Anita MacNab
  • Ms Cheryl Oxley, Humanitarian Projects
  • Ms Clare Culshaw
  • Ms Sue Alderton

Co-opted members

  • Ms Jane Lynch, Honorary Secretary
  • Dr Sitali Mushemi, Honorary Treasurer
  • Dr Tom Ingram, Chair of Clinical Standards
  • Mr Dave Hatton, Regional Representatives' Coordinator
  • Dr Sandeep Hothi
  • Dr Rakhee Hindocha
  • Ms Jude Skipper


Society representatives

  • Mr Alex McLaughlin, National School of Healthcare Sciences Representative
  • Dr Brian Campbell, Society for Cardiological Science and Technology Representative
  • Dr Mahesh Prabhu, Association for Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia and Critical Care Representative
  • Dr Gordon Williams, Editor, ECHO Journal
  • Mrs Claire Ward-Jones, Industry Representative
  • Professor Mark Monaghan, British Heart Foundation Liaison
  • Professor Petros Nihoyannopoulos, Co-Editor, Echo Research & Practice
  • Dr Rebecca Chamley, British Junior Cardiologists' Association Representative
  • Dr Andrew Potter, GP Representative and Chair, ECHO Journal Committee