The functions of the BSE are overseen by the Council which is lead by the President and the Officers (such as the Secretary and Treasurer). Council consists of elected members and co-opted members as well as representatives of professional groups such as the British Junior Cardiologists’ Association and organisations for example the British Heart Foundation.

Elected members

Elected members of Council are chosen by the entire membership by ballot conducted each year online. The results are announced at the AGM.  Each elected member serves for three years, after which they can seek re-election for a further term. The maximum number of consecutive terms on Council is two.

Co-opted members

Co-opted members are selected by Council at the meeting in the autumn after the AGM. Each Co-opted member serves for 1 year which can be renewed by Council. Co-opted members do not have the right to vote unless otherwise specified.

The President and Vice President

The President and Vice President are elected by a ballot of Council members.

Elected members

  • Dr Claire Colebourn, President
  • Mr Keith Pearce, Immediate Past President
  • Professor Martin Stout, Vice President
  • Dr Sitali Mushemi-Blake, Honorary Treasurer
  • Mrs Jude Skipper, Honorary Secretary
  • Ms Sadie Bennett, Co Chair of Accreditation
  • Ms Kelly Victor, Chair of Communications
  • Dr Dan Augustine, Co Chair of Education
  • Mr Shaun Robinson, Co Chair of Education
  • Ms Cheryl Oxley, Regional Representative Lead
  • Ms Wendy Gamlin

Co-opted members

  • Dr Tom Ingram, Co Chair of Clinical Standards
  • Ms Sarah Ritzmann, Co Chair of Clinical Standards
  • Dr Rakhee Hindocha, Co Chair of Accreditation
  • Dr Sandeep Hothi 
  • Dr Anita MacNab

Society representatives

  • Dr Andrew Potter, GP Representative, Patient Engagement Lead and ECHO Lead
  • Dr Brian Campbell, Society for Cardiological Science and Technology Representative
  • Dr Mahesh Prabhu, Association for Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia and Critical Care Representative
  • Mrs Claire Ward-Jones, Industry Representative
  • Professor Mark Monaghan, Special Advisor
  • Mrs Jane Allen, Special Advisor
  • Professor Petros Nihoyannopoulos, Editor-in-Chief, Echo Research & Practice
  • Dr Rebecca Chamley, British Junior Cardiologists' Association Representative
  • Ms Cathy West, International Representative
  • Ms Evie Greenhough, Scientist Training Programme Representative